Medical Radiography and Radiological Sciences-History

The Department of Medical Radiography and Radiological Sciences was established in 1982/83 academic session under the Faculty of Health Sciences and Technology. The first admission of students into the programme was in 1983/1984 academic session. At inception, the department was known as the Department of Radiography till 1991 when the name was changed to the Department of Medical Radiography and Radiological Sciences and the curriculum was revised, as the University changed from the term to the semester system.

The curriculum was developed in 1983 with a team of experts drawn from the Association of Radiographers of Nigeria, Association of Radiologists of West Africa, Federal Ministry of Health and other relevant bodies. It was approved in 1984 by the University Senate. The curriculum has been revised thrice to keep abreast with new concepts in medical imaging in line with the demand of our professional body and the National Universities Commission’s (NUC) minimum standards.