Medical Rehabilitation-History

About the department:

The Department of Medical Rehabilitation was initiated in the 1983/85 academic session with the appointment of a Head of Department. The curriculum of the B.M.R. degree programme was developed in consultation, with the Medical Rehabilitation Therapists Board [MRTB], which is the governing body of the profession. Although, the curriculum was developed in 1984 by a team of experts drawn from the Nigeria Society of Physiotherapy (NSP) and other specialties in medicine, the first admission of students was implemented during the 1987/88 academic session. The programme was approved the same year by the academic Board of the College of Medicine in accordance with NUC specification and ratified by the University Senate. The Department of Medical Rehabilitation offers a five-year standard generic Bachelor of Medical Rehabilitation [B.M.R.] degree programme in Physiotherapy.