Nursing Science-History

Brief history of the Department

The Department of Nursing Sciences came into existence in 1982/83 academic session. The first admission of students into the Department was in October, 1983. The programme was established based on the need of the country for improved quality nursing care, professional growth and enhancement of the nurses’ status in line with global trend. The Department started with the 3-year post basic degree programme for registered nurses. On successful completion of the programme, the graduates were awarded B. Sc. Nursing degree in three major areas: Public Health Nursing, Nursing Education and Nursing Administration. This programme has been phased out and replaced by the National Universities Commission (NUC) and Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria (N&MCN) approved Bachelor of Nursing Science (B.N.Sc) generic professional degree programme which commenced in 2004/2005 academic session with the admission of 38 students. The B.N.Sc degree is awarded at the end of five years to students who are found worthy in character and learning.

The postgraduate programme of the Department of Nursing Sciences came to existence in the 2002/03 academic session. The postgraduate programme prepares nurses who are capable of functioning effectively and independently in various environments in which nursing is practiced. The programme is designed taking into consideration that the thrust of nursing is that humans are bio-psycho-social spiritual beings capableof interacting with the environment. The programme aims at improving the clinical competence of the professional nurses to become nurse researchers/practitioners in the following specialty areas: Community Health Nursing, Medical/ Surgical Nursing, Nursing Education, Nursing Administration and Management, Maternal and Child Health Nursing and Mental Health and Psychiatric Nursing.